God speaks louder before 6 a.m.

Standard

It is true!  I am convinced that God speaks louder in the early morning hours.  At least at my house, that is a true statement.  For today, that is a true statement.

I have been struggling with my morning Bible study for a while now.  Somedays struggling means not doing it at all.  Oh, I have a long list of excuses, but I will spare you.  And then, when I do trudge on, trying to meet God there, it seems that He might be on a different time zone or something because we keep missing each other.  I see the words on the page, but I don’t feel his breath.  I relate the words to my life, but I don’t feel conviction. It has been this way for a while.  Days.  Months.  I have even gone back through my old Bible studies, thinking I may have “left” God somewhere.  On a certain page, maybe?  In a chapter that I skipped?

This week, I started a new devotional.  I started reading Unglued by Lysa Terkeurst.  I like it.  It is thought provoking.  She offers a supporting verse with each days reading and I have been reading the full chapter that the verse is located in.  It’s ok.  I’m not finding God, but I do find Lysa everyday over a cup of coffee.  But that is not right.  That is not what I long for.  I’m pretty sure that Lysa is a wonderful lady, but she is not the reason that I have committed to daily Bible study.  It should not be about Lysa.  I need to find God and he is NOT in her book.  I mean, yes, she does provide a devotional that relates to God’s word, but I need to spend more time in the Bible than I do reading  the devotional blurb.  Do my crazy thoughts make any sense at all?

Today I got up at 0’dark early to take my husband to work.  He is traveling this week and they left EARLY.  When I returned home to a dark, quiet house, I walked past my unmade bed and seriously considered it.  Instead, I grabbed my devotional, Bible and made a pot of coffee.  I read Lysa’s words.  I opened my Bible and began reading.  And there He was.  I had more aha moments this morning than I have had in the past several months!

I have been dealing with a very evil person trying to blackmail me for things she “thinks” she knows.  Today, God told me to let her tell.  Let her tell the world because He knows the truth (of course he does)  and that is all that matters.  He reinforced to me that I spend way too much time considering what the world thinks and IT. DOES. NOT. MATTER.  Let her tell the truth and add her lies to it.  It is ok.  Today, God showed me a way that I was judging others.  I had never considered it judging.  Today, God showed me that I am on the right track, but I still have a long journey ahead of me.  Today, God encouraged me to share my story, but then reminded me to get my husband’s blessing first. Today…………in the early morning hours, God was here.  It was a glorious reunion!

So, will I continue getting up this early EVERY DAY?  Maybe.  I would like to.  What I have learned today is that you do not have to get up before the sun to connect with God.  But you do need quiet, uninterrupted time that is free from distraction.  To a mama, that would mean either before the kiddos get up, or after they go to bed.  Since I have one early riser and 2 night owls, that creates a challenge.  Now that I know the challenge, I can overcome it.  No more Bible study with a child sitting beside me watching TV.  No more Bible study where I had to get up 5 times to get child breakfast, a drink, help find a lost toy, etc.  It makes a difference.

Have a great day!

 

One thought on “God speaks louder before 6 a.m.

  1. fitmom27

    I LOVE this post! BEST post yet, Jodi! It seems that God is teaching you the same lesson He has been teaching me for the past three years. I had no idea how much value I had placed on human opinions of me. I didn’t realize that I was “fearing man” like I read about in the Bible and God met me right where I am at on this issue. It is still a struggle, but He has been lovingly, patiently, kindly, teaching me to let Him define who I am and to let Him be the protector of my reputation and even if my reputation gets tarnished, He is even sovereign over that. His own reputation was tarnished by evil men and He is still King of Kings. The tarnishing of His reputation never REALLY defined who He is. I love that! Thanks so much for sharing. ((((Hugs)))))

Please pull up a chair and share your thoughts. I'll put on some more coffee. :)

