So much more than being content………

Standard

 

Dand J

Last Thursday was my grocery shopping day.  I wanted to find a way to fund a few “extra” activities we having going on over the next 2 months and I had decided to reduce the amount we spend on groceries in order to do that.  Is this called borrowing from Peter to pay Paul?  Anyway…………..after an exhausting grocery trip where I spent several minutes in each aisle staring at the prices and trying to figure the best deal for each item I bought, I returned home.  Can I just say that buying 2 weeks worth of groceries for 5 people is  e x a u s t i n g?  And the next struggle is finding space in the cabinet and fridge for all of the food.  Frustrated by my lack of adequate space, I was struck by something.  And then, for the next half hour of rearranging food, I had a complete conversation with myself.  (It happens when exhaustion sets in).

I first shamed myself for being annoyed over the fact that we have enough food for 2 weeks.  I realized that instead, I should be thankful.  I then heard me telling myself that I should also be thankful that I have a nice house to put the food in.  But I didn’t stop there.  I told myself that I was darn lucky to have a husband who works so hard, and is an amazing provider among many other wonderful qualities.  He works so that I can stay home and be mommy and teacher to our 3 youngest.  And I really don’t even think that he knows how much I appreciate him.  Well, I told him.  And I plan to tell him again and again and again.  And I want to show him how much I appreciate him by doing nice things for him, just because.

Being content is not enough.  But being thankful, leads to contentment.  I feel content.  I feel thankful.

There are many articles and devotionals written about contentment.  It is a pro-active decision to be made daily.  What are you thankful for?

3 thoughts on “So much more than being content………

  1. So agree! “A thankful heart is a happy heart!” We really do have so much to be thankful for! We cultivate a spirit of gratitude in our kids by often reminding them how much God has truly blessed us! … Decided to stop by your blog after you liked a recent post on budgeting. Thanks for that! God bless!

  2. fitmom27

    This is exactly what God has been working out in my heart. He has been showing me how often I complain instead of giving thanks…..how blessings also cause work and that I should be thankful for that work because I am capable of doing it. Great post, Jodi. I am so enjoying your blog. By the way, you look beautiful! 🙂 Love the pic!

Please pull up a chair and share your thoughts. I'll put on some more coffee. :)

