A dear friend’s words of wisdom

Standard

I enjoy getting together twice a month with a small group of homeschool moms to discuss a book on parenting or homeschooling.  Sally Clarkson is a favorite!   It is probably one of the most encouraging activities that I have been part of in years.  Our group is small and thus far drama free. ( A requirement if I am going to participate.)

During one of our meetings it was mentioned that our friend that hosts the gatherings has such a clean and orderly home, even though she has 5 children between the ages 14 and 6 months.  Another mom, asked how in the world she did it!  My friend’s humble reply was this, “As mothers, we all have things that we choose to do.  But not one of us can do it ALL.  My house may be cleaner, but I don’t grind my own wheat and bake bread for my family like you do.  I don’t cook everything from scratch like you do.  Therefore, I have more time, to spend cleaning.”

I just love how she said that and pointed out the other mothers strengths in her response.  Another woman in the group does a great deal of traveling with her family.  They believe it is best to expose their daughter to many activities, cultures, etc.  But the bottom line is that all of our homes look differently.  Our families are different.  Some have many children, some have few.  Our husbands are different.  Some travel often, some work from home.  There is no such thing as a cookie cutter home.

That being said, I am going to stop feeling guilty for my little splurge at the grocery store and share it with you as one of my “secrets”.  Are you ready?

 

 

pancake 2

Yep, that is it!  Pancake in a bottle.  A few years ago, I wouldn’t dream of wasting money on something that I can make myself.  However, I can put a hot breakfast on the table in 5 minutes, with one dirty dish and get started on school much sooner if I make this splurge!  And my kiddos LOVE them!

pancake cooking

We sometimes add chocolate chips as a special treat!

 

pancake 3

As it turns out, my friend is right.  We all make choices.  I can serve my kiddos this hot breakfast and not have a dish in the sink if you drop in at 10 a.m. unannounced.  But if I would have made them homemade whole wheat pancakes (as I used to do), I would probably have a sink full of dishes and messy counters at that!  🙂

Please don’t send me hate mail. (wink)  I know that healthy foods are important and I know that my pancake batter has lots of extra junk and even sugar in it.  But it is only one meal and it starts our day off right!  Try them…….they even taste homemade!  🙂

4 thoughts on “A dear friend’s words of wisdom

  1. I have a friend just like that! But one day I surprised her with a visit. I hate to say that I had a smile on my face when I saw her still in her pj’s , toys all over the floor, breakfast dishes in the sink. She apologized for the house but I told her that it’s okay, it’s was comforting to know that she wasn’t Super Mom. She laughed and confessed that when the girls were coming over she spent the day cleaning.

    • Yes, I think that most of us do spend the day cleaning before company. But some just seem a bit more orderly than others. I tend to be a stacker………paper, books, etc, on my counters. I try to really learn from those “naturally organized” moms! I did ask a very “orderly” mom once, how she organized her paper (bills, school papers, etc), so that they were never on her counters. She showed me the boxes hidden under her bed with those items. LOL! She said it was not organized at all, but she knew where to find them! 🙂

  2. oklahomanicole

    I am the same way with frozen waffles. I used to make them homemade. But, sorry, it’s just easier and quicker to pop them in the toaster.

  3. fitmom27

    What a great post! It’s so true, that we need to learn and glean from each other, but not compare ourselves to other moms. We tend to compare only our weaknesses to their strengths….or what we perceive to be a weakness, anyway, but God designed us and wired us each individually. My strengths are not going to look like everyone else’s and my weaknesses are always something I can work on with the Lord…..but not stress over. Sometimes we are the only one who really views it as a weakness, when in fact, our strengths need to be focused on and honed. Whatever we do, the most important thing, is to stay plugged into Him and let Him define who we are. He makes all things beautiful in His time, right? Anyway, I really enjoyed this post! Thanks for sharing. 🙂

Please pull up a chair and share your thoughts. I'll put on some more coffee. :)

