5 hours in the ER……Priceless!

Standard

We don’t run to the doctor often.  Infact, I am a firm believer that God made our bodies to heal naturally and fight off infection.  One way to fight off infection is through fever.  So I don’t give (or take) ibuprofen at the first sign of fever.  I give it if my child is too uncomfortable to rest soundly or if the fever gets too high.  However, yesterday, I decided that two children needed to see a doctor and would probably need an antibiotic.  We have had an annoying virus for the past 2 weeks that doesn’t really keep us down, it just drains our energy.  Yesterday, it appeared to turn into strep throat and an ear infection.  So I called our doctor at 8 a.m.

But there seemed to be a problem with our insurance.  Their system wouldn’t allow them to make an appointment for me.  So my husband spent 2 hours out of his busy morning, getting it “fixed”.  We had to give copies of social security cards (because their computer system mysteriously at the copies they have had for years) and several forms worth of life history!  What a mess.  I was told to “try again” to make an apt after lunch.  Called at 1:00, and the changes were not showing up in the system so, no appointment.  ARE YOU KIDDING ME??  I was transferred to a patient service rep.  No answer and left a message.  UGH!  2:00 p.m.,  I called BACK to the appointment line and gave the poor girl my LONG sob story.  She got the insurance rep on the phone and confirmed that we were indeed covered.  However, she was sorry because there were no more appointments available for that day.  WHAT???  I started calling at 8:00 a.m.!  She recommends that we go to the ER.  We hurry to get to the ER before the schools let out, and hope that it will not be busy!  We walk in to standing room only.  I check in and they offer to call our doctor to see if they can see us because there will be at least a 3 hour wait at the ER.  I send my children to the hallway to wait, so we don’t end up with more than we came in with!  Honestly, if we were not expecting a big snow storm, I would not have taken them to the ER in the first place.  So we wait, first in the hallway and then in a “special room” where we were not exposed to all the contagious crud that we didn’t already have!

3.5 hours later, we meet our doctor.  It was WELL WORTH the wait.  He confirmed that my daughter had an ear infection and invited my older son and I to have a look at a healthy ear vs an inflamed ear.  I told him that we homeschooled and this was the most interesting science lesson we have had in a while.  He looked up and said, “We homeschool, too!”  I should have known!  We share the same views about giving medications, which is amazing because most ER docs just quickly write a script and send you on your way.  Unfortunately, he only works in emergency medicine, so we can’t transfer to his practice.  I would have in a heart beat!

The best part of the visit, was when he shared with us that his 13 year old daughter was taking online high school ap courses offered by our state University.  I did not know this was an option.  I looked it up last night and it is now a very real possibility for my 13 year old for next year.  I had previously found courses offered at the local career center, but they actually came from the high school.   This ER trip, in spite of the long wait, was definitely worth it!!  It may seem like a small thing, but God puts people into our lives for a reason.  Maybe HE is the one that zapped our info out of the system, so that we had to go to the ER.  🙂

3 thoughts on “5 hours in the ER……Priceless!

  1. fitmom27

    Wow! It certainly does sound like that was a Divine appointment. Sometimes life’s little exasperations (or big ones) really can be the Lord working things our for our good. Maybe that’s why the Bible says to do everything without grumbling and complaining and to give thanks in everything. It sure is hard to obey those scriptures when we are stressed over all the apparent road blocks, though isn’t it? What a great story and faith builder. Thanks for sharing! 🙂

Please pull up a chair and share your thoughts. I'll put on some more coffee. :)

