I don’t “do” used………

Standard

Those words were on my mind today as I flipped a U-turn and redirected my truck to our local Goodwill store. My husband was home today, so he became teacher for the day while I headed out to buy groceries. I was sitting at a stoplight when I had an AHA moment………..I was alone. No one whining that they are hungry, or too hot or too cold, or tired, or bored. No one was fighting, or trying to negotiate our electronics rules. The silence was golden and I was going shopping!

As I parked, and walked into Goodwill, I kept thinking about my friend that I met last summer. She is in her 60’s and lives alone. Her only living relatives are a sister-in-law that lives 2 hours away and a nephew that lives 16 hours away. She is very kind and our family just adopted her. One summer evening, I invited her go to area yard sales early the next morning with the kids and I. “No thank you.”, she said firmly. “I don’t do used”. WHAT?? REALLY?? She explained that she would rather do without if she can’t buy clothing or furniture brand new and she has NEVER worn used clothing. Ever.

I’m pretty sure that my jaw was on the ground. It was too hard to wrap my head around. I mean, who doesn’t love a bargain. I teased her and told her that I would convert her, but she was adamant. Her mother used to love shopping yard sales and my friend kindly drove her, but she said that she never got out of the car. Wow!

So today I walked away from Good will with 2 pair of black yoga pants and a make up bag for just $5. Everything I purchased is like new. It is not visibly worn. Sure, I would love to go and get the $60 pair of Under Armour, and maybe someday I will. But for now, I am happy with what I have! I LOVE saving money! 🙂

What about you? Do you “do” used?? Why or why not?

2 thoughts on “I don’t “do” used………

  1. fitmom27

    Absolutely! Gently used is such a blessing and I’m with you. I love saving money. Garage saleing (is that even a word) is a true art form and I love it! I’m giddy when I come home with my “steal of a deal” deals. My heart feels sad for anyone who has not learned to enjoy and appreciate the fun of the bargain hunt. They are missing out! There are many times we find brand new on the close out racks for the same price we might find it at a garage sale or a thrift store and I’m just as excited then, if not more….but for me the thrill of the hunt and knowing I saved our family
    money is the best thrill ever!

  2. “Used” is what we do best around here! Haha! 🙂 Can’t imagine passing up at least browsing for a bargain. We almost never pay full price & definitely not for clothing. My daughter found 4 suitable outfits (skirts & tops) for work, 3 pairs of like new slacks for hubby, sunglasses for son & 5 Tupperware tumblers = $80 at Goodwill recently. One pair of men’s slacks would retail what we paid for our entire lot! Definitely “do used”!

Please pull up a chair and share your thoughts. I'll put on some more coffee. :)

